Sports News Website

Simi Singh replaces Andy McBrine in Ireland’s squad for last two T20I against Afghanistan

Belfast : Off-spin all-rounder Simi Singh on Saturday was the only change in the Ireland men’s T20I squad for the final two T20 Internationals against Afghanistan on August 15 and 17.

Simi, who last played a T20I for Ireland against the UAE at Al Amerat in T20 World Cup Qualifier in February this year, has replaced off-spinner Andy McBrine in the squad.

In 47 T20Is, Simi has taken 41 wickets at an average of 27.24 and economy rate of 7.45. With the bat, he has made 289 runs at an average of 10.70 and strike-rate of 109.46, with a highest score of 57 not out.

Ireland also said that Craig Young and Conor Olphert were not considered for selections for the last two T20Is against Afghanistan as the duo are still undergoing rehabilitation from injuries.Ireland are currently leading the five-match series 2-1 against Afghanistan.

In the third T20I, left-arm spin all-rounder George Dockrell struck his maiden T20I half-century but the hosts still ended up losing the match by 22 runs.In the chase, after Afghanistan made 189-5, Ireland were quickly reduced to 36-4.

They went on to be at 85-7 in 13 overs. But Dockrell (58 not out off 37 balls) and debutant Fionn Hand (36 off 18 balls) kept Ireland’s hopes alive with an eighth-wicket partnership worth 74 just six runs short of a world-record eighth wicket stand in T20I cricket.

Ireland squad: Andrew Balbirnie (Captain), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Stephen Doheny, Fionn Hand, Graham Hume, Josh Little, Barry McCarthy, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker.




Comments are closed.

eskort eskişehir - adana eskort - mersin escort -
Zero Waste Shop
web tasarım